5th European Congress of Local Governments Awards

The first day of the European Congress of Local Governments ended with a gala when awards for local governments were presented. There were twelve awards given that evening. The ceremony was graced by the Zabrze Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Sławomir Orzechowski.


Two of the awards were granted on the basis of the 2nd Financial Ranking of Local Government in Poland. The diploma from the hands of the Deputy Prime Minister for Social Affairs, Beata Szydło, was received by the Mayor of Podkowa Leśna, Artur Tusiński. Podkowa Leśna turned out to be the best in the Municipality category. Exactly the same award went to the Head of District of Poznań – Jan Grabkowski, who won in the category of the Best District. The award was presented by the President of TUW Polski Zakład Ubezpieczeń Wzajemnych – Rafał Kilinski and the Rector of the University of Economics in Krakow – professor Andrzej Chochol.

A separate category of awards were those presented by the “Wprost” weekly. The golden key, which is a highly valued distinction, this time went to two local government officials – the presidents of Cracow and Gliwice. Jacek Majchrowski (Cracow) and Zygmunt Frankiewicz (Gliwice) were honoured for their outstanding contribution to the development of the Polish local government.

Also representatives of medical companies received their awards. The Golden List of Polish Health, i.e. a list of the most important healthcare brands, was created in cooperation with the consultancy company Acropolis, Forbes Polska and the Institute for Market and Social Research IBRIS. The ranking was developed based on financial data and opinion polls in a partnership with the Polish Association of Employers of the Pharmaceutical Industry. On the top of the list was placed LuxMed – the award was picked up by Bartosz Kapczyński – a member of the board of LuxMed. Other awards went to Krzysztof Kępiński – board member GlaxoSmith Kline, producer of Rutinoscorbin and VoltarenMax, Karol Piasecki – vice-president of the company Dr. Max, Adam Błażeczek – financial director of Gemini Polska, Anna Robak-Reczek from Polfa Warsaw, producer of Acard and Agnieszka Lubkowska – director for production at TEVA, producer of Flegamina. Certificates confirming the place in the ranking were handed over to laureates by Katarzyna Dubno, vice-president of the Polish Association of Employers of the Pharmaceutical Industry.


The hight point of the gala was the moment of according a special award of the City of Krakow on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the ABSL Business Service Leaders Association. President of the Association’s board, Piotr Dziwok, received the award direct from the hands of Krakow’s Mayor, prof. Jacek Majchrowski.

Over 1000 quests participated in the gala. Among distinguished guests were Deputy Prime Minister for Social Affairs – Beata Szydło, Minister of Infrastructure – Andrzej Adamczyk, Governor of Malopolska Region – Piotr Ćwik or the Marshal of Malopolska Region – Witold Kozłowski.


The strategic partner of the 5th European Congress of Local Governments was Veolia Poland, while the partner of the gala was Towarzystwo Ubezpieczeń Wzajemnych PZUW.